IF YOU COULD CHOOSE ONLY ONE

baby ruth

Have you ever wondered if your favorite candy bar is America’s favorite also? Better yet, let’s say you have only $1.00 on you and your sweet tooth is screaming for a fix. Your desperate, desperate enough to pull in to a 7/11 and spend that last dollar on something sweet. Your standing in front of the candy section just staring at the choices, back and forth your eyes wonder. You pick up one but put it back, just isn’t perfect. Your eyes continue to take ever candy in, the choice must be just right. So you finally decide to go with a candy bar that has never let you down in the past. It is your favorite and you can’t wait to take a bite. Chances are it’s one of the following 10 candy bars which are also America’s favorites in order of popularity. #10, Hershey Bar – Could be one of America’s oldest favorites introduced by Milton Hershey in 1894. A easy choice but in my opinion the chocolate just isn’t that good and have you ever bought a Hershey Bar that has been on the rack to long? It turns a grey-whitesh color which is disgusting. I prefer the one with almonds. Let just say it’s an American standard but not my number one. #9, Oh Henry – I really don’t think I’ve ever bought an Oh Henry, but I’ve had a few by way of Halloween or at social gatherings. Full of caramel, peanuts, and covered in chocolate I had been told it was named after baseball great, Hammerin’ Hank Aaron, but that just isn’t true. The bar was introduced in 1921, before Aaron was born. #8, M&Ms – Even though this is not really a candy bar, they are good and fun to eat or throw in somebody else’s wide open mouth. M&M’s stands for Mars and Murrie who were the founders of the company. Melts in your mouth, not in your hand – just ask Tommy Boy. Richard: ” Oh, That sounds good. Melted chocolate inside the dash, that really ups the resale value.” #7, Baby Ruth – a classic which I have purchased numerous times and was also featured in the pool scene of the movie, Caddyshack. Again I had always thought it was named after legendary baseball player Babe Ruth and it was, sort of. It was originally called Kandy Kake but the name was changed in 1921 to Baby Ruth to cash in on the popularity of “The Babe” without having to pay him. #6, 3 Musketeers – Has a great chocolate outside but that creamy inside really sucks in my opinion. Best eaten after put in the ‘fridge. Was originally made in three flavors…vanilla, strawberry, and chocolate. #5, Milky Way – Another candy bar with a great chocolate outside and mushy inside, but the caramel makes it better than 3 Muskateers. The newer dark chocolate one is the best. The original idea was to make a chocolate malt drink in the form of a candy bar. #4, Butterfinger – Bart Simpson’s favorite candy bar. This is a change from the others in that the inside is a crunchy blend of butter and peanut butter. I enjoy these but getting it off your teeth and gums after your done can be a hassle. #3, Kit Kat – Great candy and easy to eat. I love separating the segments and eating one at a time. Nice wafer inside with chocolate covering. This should be #2 in my opinion. Also has a great jingle,”Gimme a break….”. #2, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – I’ll never understand why these are so popular. They would not make my Top 50, but others love them. Chocolate and peanut butter, two of my favorite food groups, but the peanut butter in these taste grainy and it seems whenever I buy one it’s half melted. Another refrigerator candy loved by everyone other than me. Now for America’s favorite candy bar, none other than #1, Snickers. I have to agree with this. I have bought this more than any other candy bar in my lifetime and there is no way to go wrong with nougat, caramel, roasted peanuts, and milk chocolate. I have also been sucked in by the advertising, Hungry? Grab a Snickers. I feel as though I might be eating something semi-healthy as a snack, but I’m sure it’s no more healthy than the other nine. Every one of the top 10 candy bars are covered in chocolate, which is fine with me, but it leaves out one important candy bar in my life, Payday. Sometime I just crave the taste of salt and peanuts and Payday has been the choice on several occassions…but obviously I am in the minority.

One thought on “IF YOU COULD CHOOSE ONLY ONE

Leave a Reply

