FLINTSTONES VS. THE JETSONS

Flintstones   Jetsons    

The Flintstones are so old that the word gay means happy as in their theme song, “You’ll have a gay old time”. I love this group and so does the rest of the world. In 2013, TV Guide ranked the Flintstones the second greatest cartoon of all time behind The Simpsons. Produced by Hanna-Barbera this animated hit ran in Prime-Time from 1960-1966 on ABC , was a staple on Saturday morning cartoons for years and still can be seen on kids cable TV. I think I saw every episode from ages 6-12. The Flintstones is about a working class Stone Age man’s life with his family and his next door neighbors and best friends, The Rubbles. Fred was the main character and worked at the Slate Rock & Gravel Company owned by Mr. Slate. Fred was easy to piss-off and always seemed to be yelling someone’s name out…particularly his wife’s, Wilma. I used to love it when his shift ended at work and he slid down a dinosaur’s back and tail to leave. Fred and his best friend, Barney, get in to a lot of arguments but eventually make-up as best friends do. Barney seems more simple-minded and friendly plus he has the hottest wife in Bedrock…maybe this is why Fred is always upset and Barney has a smile on his face. The wives, Betty and Wilma, love to spend money…even in the Stone Age. I think I could hang with Fred and Barney and bowl a couple games with them. Maybe they could get me in to Loyal Order of Water Buffaloes and we could do some beers together. I know I would have to try out Fred’s car which is foot powered and makes a cool sound when their feet hit the road. Hills could be tough. Dino is the family pet who constantly knocks down Fred upsetting him even more. There is also The Great Gazoo , an alien from the future sent back to the stone-age and can be seen by only Fred, Barney and small children like Pebbles and Bamm-Bamm. I didn’t like this character, too confusing for a 7-year old. I did love Pebbles and to this day think Bamm-Bamm could be a top multi-sport athlete…I mean the kid is a stud. Life is good in Bedrock, I wouldn’t mind owning a home on the same block. You would have to give up some modern amenities but the Flintstones got by using tiny dinosaurs to power their appliances and even had had shell telephones. But overall when your with the Flintstones you’ll have a yabba dabba doo time. Note – Fred’s character was based off Jackie Gleason from The Honeymooners both in physique and voice. Also the voice of Barney Rubble was done by the famous Mel Blanc ( Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig and a dozen other Warner Bros. characters). Long live The Flintstones.

The first time I saw George Jetson wake-up and get ready for work by moving along a conveyor belt without moving a muscle I was hooked. How cool was that. The Jetsons also produced by Hanna-Barbera ran in Prime-Time from 1962-’63 and has been a cornerstone of Saturday morning cartoon blocks and kid’s networks. It was actually the first program ever to be broadcast in color on ABC. The Jetsons live in the year 2062, when elaborate robotic contraptions and space-age travel are the norm. Orbit City has all of it’s homes and businesses raised above ground. Travel is done by aerocars with cool transparent bubble tops…like future pope mobiles. You can drop off your passengers at various locations just by pushing a button and the passengers will transport to their designated location in a mini-bubble. The family consisted of George, his wife Jane, kids Judy & Elroy, a live-in robot maid, Rosie, and Astro, the dog. Life was designed to be leisurely with George working 3-hours per day, 3-days per week and the entire household had push-button convieniences. Unfortunately these devices often broke down and if any work at all had to be done, Rosie could handle it. I don’t remember any other families on the show, just George’s boss, Cosmo Spacely. George tries his best but always seems to make the wrong decisions and the family complains of exhausting hard labor with the simplest of inconveniences. I remember wanting to be like the 7-year old Elroy and I had my first animated crush on Judy…is that normal? I didn’t think so. The premise of the Jetson’s world was that people were fond of the good life, some may say a lazy-life…I mean George walks Astro on a treadmill. I guess they would fall into space like Sandra Bullock if they went outside. The Jetsons led an easy life, but given the choice I think I would be most comfortable living with The Flintstones. I feel like I know them better. Both shows had cool theme songs which had me running for the TV set. The Jetson’s aerocar kicks butt over the Flinstones foot powered auto but I would like to hang out with Fred and Barney…how about you… Flintstones or Jetsons?

One thought on “FLINTSTONES VS. THE JETSONS

  1. my vote goes to the FLINTSTONES…..I am just not a Jetson kind of girl…..altho Judy was cute and perky, the whole space age thing was cold and spacy……I liked Dino and the Wilma/Betty relationship was funny….I watched both shows (thinking of it now….what a waste of time!!!)

Leave a Reply

