DAYDREAMERS LIVE HERE

hogwarts        caterpillar

Daydreamers come in all ages although I think you originally master the skill while in elementary school.You have been sitting for over 60-minutes and it just happens…your mind wonders away from reality to some far-off place. Everything is perfect there, you can be whoever you want, wherever you want, it doesn’t even have to be a place on any map. The place can just be in your head and you can be king or queen, adventurer, princess, hero, swordsman, dragon killer, or the fairest of them all. I consider myself a professional daydreamer, I don’t get paid, but I have spent so many hours with my head in the clouds that I’m a pro. Daydreaming can take you to far away places or places you didn’t even know existed. Many of these places are a reflection of a book you read or a movie you have seen. If you could take a magical pill and travel to another land, which one would you choose?

1. Wonderland – Follow Alice down the rabbit’s hole to a heavily wooded area full of mushrooms and odd characters. There are well-kept gardens, palaces, and a seacoast where Mock Turtle lives. I could hang with the Mad Hatter, smoke with the Caterpillar, and run around with the White Rabbit. It would be cool to be any size you wanted, maybe I could take a drink and become 8-feet tall and come back to play in the NBA, although I doubt I could make it back up the rabbit hole. I would rather stay in the woods and stay out of the way of the Queen of Hearts…the King sounds pretty cool though. Crazy is normal in Wonderland…my first pick.

2. OZ – Dorothy made it to Oz and back, too bad nobody really believed her, but I did. I mean how could they do a Return To Oz if it wasn’t real? Another woodsy setting with a lotta’ small people running around. I could play at my regular height in the munchkin NBA at the Oz Arena and dominate. Emerald City looks like a beautiful city but with Oz gone I heard it has gotten run down. The Wicked Witches of the East & West are now gone, so at least it is safe. I would pass on Oz as it doesn’t seem the same with a lot of the key characters gone. I mean how long can you hang with the Scarecrow, Tin Man, and Cowardly Lion?

3. Neverland – If I was still a kid this place would be the bomb. Never growing up would be awesome. Being a Lost Boy and fighting pirates with Peter is a kids dream, not to mention the ability to fly. Two major problems: I’m close to 60-years old and I’ve already grown up, and secondly, no chicks…Neverland is a sausage fest. It does have mermaids in the Mermaids’ Lagoon, but I don’t understand how that works.

4. Hogwarts – Popular with the Potter People, Hogwarts is actually a school inside a huge, rambling, castle that is supported by magic. In the novels we learn Hogwarts is somewhere in Scotland but it is impossible for a Muggle (non-magical person) to find it…but daydreamers can. In fact daydreamers don’t even need to take the Hogwarts Express. Playing Quidditch would be the highlight for me…super cool game…one of the best original games I’ve seen. The biggest negative is the evil sorcery that is going on around you…not my first pick.

5. Toontown – Man, it’s right here in L.A. This place is high on my list. Did you know that every cartoon character lives here? I would get a kick-ass tooncar and cruise Griffith Park doing all kinds of slides, wheelies, and maybe even get a car that flies. I would love to meet Wile E. Coyote and help him capture the Roadrunner, it’s about time. I would also hang with the original Warner Bros. crew of Bugs, Daffy, Porky, & Speedy Gonzales. I would even smash Sylvester the Cat with a sledgehammer just to see him shake it off and return to normal. That is my favorite cartoon trick, to look normal again after having 10-sticks of dynamite blow up in your face, or fall 1,000 feet to the canyon’s bottom, have your body flattened like a pancake, then just shake it off. Toontown rocks!

6. Middle-Earth – Middle Earth is not a place I daydream of but if you are a Rings fan this is your place. Tolkien wrote that Middle-earth is located on our Earth but at a different time. Quite a cast of characters with hobbits, dwarves and elves. A lot of magic again which makes anything possible. I never read the books so I have to go by the movies and they made it look scary, not a good ingredient for day dreaming. I leave this for the dark daydreamers.

7. Camelot – is actually a castle and not a country or territory. It is the fantasy capital of King Arthur’s realm. Being fictional it is located nowhere in particular, but many think it is somewhere in Great Britain. Live was good, but like all castles the sanitation is bad as I learned from The Black Knight. Camelot reminds me of Richard Burton (musical), and John F. Kennedy. It is a good daydreaming era for the romantic and adventerous. Medieval Times is just not my thing.

I was trying to daydream, but my mind kept wondering – Steven Wright          I live my daydreams in music – Albert Einstein…Good tip Al, it’s great to put on the headphones for some enlightened daydreams.

5 thoughts on “DAYDREAMERS LIVE HERE

  1. I must day dream a lot because I love Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Neverland, and Camelot…superheros too…Maybe they could be added to the day dream list.

    ~Aspen

Leave a Reply

